Craft / Knit / Knitted / Knitting / Mittens / Uncategorized

FO: Mitered Mittens

Used Lion Brand Wool Ease from my stash and size 6 needles.

The classic Mitered Mittens pattern written by knitting guru Elizabeth Zimmerman has been in my queue forever, and I don’t know why I never just made a pair.  Then we had to drive to see my MIL and FIL so I decided that this would be the perfect car trip project.

And it was!

This has to be one of the easiest patterns ever, it only took 6 hours to make the pair of them. Making stripes also helped break up the stockinette stitch of the pattern.

Modifications:

Used size 6 needles instead of size 5

Knitted using magic loop method instead of 5 needle method

Did 2 rows of seed stitch instead of 5 rows ribbing

Switched colors every four rows instead of doing it in a solid color

After four full repeats of the stripe pattern, used waste yarn to hold 6 stitches and then used a cable cast-on to add 7 stitches instead of doing an afterthought thumb (I still can’t bring myself to snip perfectly good stitches)

My camera is on the fritz (grrrrrr) so I had to borrow one from the library and I had John take some pictures- which turned out great and makes me think that I just stink at taking pictures!

And for once, Wisconsin looks green 🙂

Yeay for mitts in summer!!

Lemme know what you think!

