Craft / free / Free Pattern / Knit / Knitted / Knitting / Uncategorized

FO: Granny’s Traditional Tea Cosy

Yeay for a new camera! Since sunshine is a rare occurrence right now, the pictures are all a little dark but overall I am in love with my new camera- almost as much as I love this tea pot cozy 🙂

The pattern is Grannie’s Traditional Tea Cozy,  and as soon as I saw the pattern I wanted to make it- and I was really looking forward to my tea staying nice and warm.

I used one skien each of Lion Brand Wool Ease in Sea Spray, Blue Heather, and Oxford Gray. Even with the flowers on top, I didn’t use an entire skien of any of them.

Modifications:

Realized that the pattern is for a 4-cup tea pot and I have an 8-cup tea pot so I increased the needle size to 8 instead of the called for size 6

Only had to do 12 full repeats of the pattern instead of the 14 called for in the pattern

Made it all in one piece to save time later, did increases as follows (I think):

Row 73 (RS): with MC k1, kfb 6 times, k1.

Row 74 (WS):[this is where you switch the yarn in back to make it match how it is suppose to look when you knit it in two pieces] with CC2 k2, *with MC k1, with CC2 k1*, repeat from *to* 5 times, ending with MC k2.

Row 75 (RS): with MC k1, *with MC kfb, with CC2 kfb*, repeat from *to* 6 times, ending with CC2 k1.

Row 76 (WS): with MC k3, *with CC1 k2, with MC k2*, repeat from *to* 5 times, ending with CC1 k3.

Row 77 (RS): with CC1 k1 *with CC1 kfb twice, with MC kbf twice*, repeat from *to* 6 times, ending with MC k1.

Row 78 (WS): with CC2 k5, *with MC k4, with CC2 k4*, repeat from *to* 5 times, ending with MC k5.

Row 79 (RS): with MC k1, *with MC kfb, k2, kfb, with CC2 kfb, k2, kfb*, repeat from *to* 6 times, ending with CC2 k1.

Row 80 (WS): with MC k7, *with CC1 k6, with MC k6*, repeat from *to* 5 times, ending with CC1 k7.

Row 81 (RS): with CC1 k1, *with CC1 kfb, k4, kfb, with MC kfb, k4, kfb*, repeat from *to* 6 times, ending with MC k1.

For the top I used my book “Crocheted Bouquet” and made the following in the following order (from top to bottom):

  • Fat Pom-Pom Center (Sea Spray)
  • Small Primrose Center (Blue)
  • Medium Primrose Center (Gray)

I like the overall effect and am very happy with the finished product.

Just an FYI- I did not finish all these projects at once. Rather, these have been done for awhile and since my camera broke there has been a back log of stuff to blog about. 🙂

One thought on “FO: Granny’s Traditional Tea Cosy

  1. I don’t know if you check this blog as I see this is an older post but. . . . how did you do this in the round? Or. . . . Did you just have one seam?

Lemme know what you think!

