Uncategorized

Blast From the Past

It is sunny, humid and annoying here in Wisconsin. And above is the one flower that decided to grow. Pretty huh? Admittedly it would be prettier if this flower had a few buddies to hang out with- but since I am currently living in crappy college housing, this is all we get.

Anyhow, onto something I made forever ago and never posted about even though I love it.

My first fillet crochet project.

Here it is! It is a table runner created from the Greek Fillet Runner pattern that I discovered on Ravelry some time ago. I wish I remembered more about it, but this runner has been on our coffee table for almost a whole year now so my memory is a little hazy.

I believe this project took a week or so, and I think I only had to frog once or twice a few rows to fix a mistake. The concept of fillet crochet is easy, and it was really fun to see the pattern emerge.

I believe I used the typical cotton crochet thread that anyone can pick up at Wal-Mart, and it is a creamy butter color.

Blocking it was a chore though, I tried to block it with just water to no avail and then I discovered that things like this can be blocked with liquid starch. It took a few times but it finally held 🙂

Anyone else played around with fillet crochet?

Lemme know what you think!

