cheap / Craft / featured / food / Happiness / life / recipe / Simple Living

Looking through the glass . . .

On our mission to be more environmentally friendly and economically savvy, we have started to use glass jars to store stuff. While we did buy some, most of the containers are re-used sauce, pickle, and other various types of jars.

We were able to get the glass containers from the local Fleet Farm or whatever it is that were on sale for 30% off. I eventually plan on knitting removable covers for the containers so I wanted to make labels that could be removed when the glass containers need washing. I pulled out my embroidery and used the alphabet on this website to cross stitch the ingredients on the fabric.  I then used simple hemp twine that I use for jewelry making to attach the labels.

The labels were a very easy weekend project- although I must admit that it took a few weekends to finish because I was busy with other holiday gifts and such.  I may make more elaborate labels later but for now I am perfectly happy with these.

In my opinion there are a lot of reasons why storing these items in glass jars is beneficial:

  • No moisture can get in and spoil the food or make the sugar clump- which means not throwing away food for no good reason
  • You can easily see what you are running low on
  • Glass doesn’t transfer smells, so your stuff won’t stink after a while
  • Glass doesn’t stain so they look nice for as long as you have them
  • Glass containers are much cheaper than the plastic containers, and you can always re-use the glass containers from spaghetti sauce, pickles, etc. for more jars
  • You can freeze extra soup and chili in glass jars (just make sure to leave a little room for expansion)

For other reasons why you may want to consider using glass containers you can read the articles here, here and here.  How do you store stuff in your kitchen?

As you can see, we are also saving money by using dry beans that are oh so easy to cook.  I admit, I was hesitant to try dry beans because it brought images of being in the kitchen for hours on end. Well, I am here to tell you that is not so! While it does require some pre-planing, the process is very easy.

  1. Soak beans overnight in a bowl of water in the fridge
  2. Rinse
  3. Throw in a pot with water
  4. Boil for about an hour
  5. Eat and be merry

Easy huh? If you want to try and my five steps aren’t enough direction, you can find more information here and is what I used.  One of the most amazing things is how much the beans grow! They seriously get to be about three times as big- it is just insane.

Anyhow, eating food that is not only healthy for us but is cheaper than the processed stuff is becoming easier and easier as time goes on and I am very glad that we decided to make the effort to be healthier.

Hope everyone is having a fabulous day and is staying (relatively) stress-free during this holiday season!

Lemme know what you think!

