Craft / Crochet / featured / free / Free Pattern / life

The Return of the Nosegay

This will look familiar to my readers- but I have remade the Nosegay Doily for our kitchen. This time, it is much, much smaller.
I will go ahead and answer the first question: Didn’t I just see a rug that you made based off this pattern?
Yes- however I made it out of acrylic and turns out that just isn’t a great material for a rug. Too soft, doesn’t hold shape, slipped all over the place, etc. So it was frogged and you will see the re-incarnation of that yarn later.
For now though, is this doily. I made it using a size ridiculously small crochet hook (2.1mm for those who may actually care about details like that) and size 10 crochet thread by Red Heart in, well, red. Apparently I was bound and determined to make this pattern for the kitchen, and make it red.
Starting out, I was worried that because I was playing with (what felt like) thread and a tiny little twig that there was no way this would be big enough.
Silly me.
image
This thing takes up approximately 50% of my table.  And took 2 and 1/2 skeins of the crochet thread.  And I was sooooo ready to be done.
Although it only took me two weeks from cast on to cast off it felt a lot longer.
I blocked it by spraying it with some spray starch and ironed it with no steam. Worked really well and I really like it.  And I think I am finally done with this pattern. Although I recommend it entirely- it is actually quite a boring pattern and the best part was the outside edging that looks way more tedious and complicated than it actually was.
And yeah, I have a turquoise candelabra on our table. Why wouldn’t I?
Any other doily makers out there?
9 thoughts on “The Return of the Nosegay

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and will come back later on.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice holiday weekend!

  2. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if
    I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to
    this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  3. Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  4. When I go from crocheting with regular 4 ply yarn to make something with crocheting thread and a much smaller hook – it does take some adjusting to get use to the change – your doily looks great.

Lemme know what you think!

