afghan / Craft / Crochet / life

The Blanket that will never end

ImageThe flower blanket in the foreground is known in my home as “the blanket that will never end”. It even has a song… which I can’t post here because there is just way too many inappropriate words in it and I believe I told WordPress my blog would be G rated.

Here is a Ravelry link to the project. You will notice that I placed the start date as December of 2012. Truth is, I can’t remember when I started it. But there is a light at the end of the tunnel- I only have 6 some more rows to go.

One of my friends asked me what I had left to do on the afghan, and so I came up with this list detailing how the remainder of this project is most likely to go:

  • finish the last few flower centers
  • place border on the unfinished motifs
  • layout motifs to decide on placement
  • decide I don’t like the first way that I have it arranged, spend 40 minutes playing “where should this go?” with the remaining 120-some motifs
  • yell at dog for playing onto of the loose motifs while I have them on the floor
  • decide I don’t really care what order the colors are in anymore and call the arrangement ‘good enough’
  • join motifs in strips (while watching trashy TV)
  • join strips together onto the main blanket
  • put a border on that sucker
  • drink wine
  • weave in ends
  • most likely drink more wine (there are way too many ends on this freaking blanket)
  • wash/dry it
  • tell the hubster that he needs to gush about how awesome it is until I forget about how long it took me to weave in all those million ends
  • place it on the bed and rejoice that it is finally done!

As of last night- all flower centers are done! Woot woot!

Looks like I have some trashy TV and wine to look forward to this weekend- nothing like keeping it classy 🙂

Of course, as I complain about this project taking forever, I already have my next two afghan patterns picked out!

13 thoughts on “The Blanket that will never end

  1. It’s in fact very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television,
    so I only use world wide web for that reason, and take the newest news.

  2. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and detailed information you provide.

    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Good day! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

  5. Your blog appears to be having some compatibilty problems in my ie browser.

    The text seems to be running off the webpage pretty bad.

    If you want you can contact me at: kathrinwirth@yahoo.
    de and I’ll shoot you over a screenshot of the problem.

  6. I believe everything typed made a lot of sense. But, what
    about this? suppose you added a little information?

    I ain’t saying your information isn’t solid.,
    but suppose you added a title that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean The Blanket that will never end | A Simple Stitch is kinda boring. You could glance at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create news titles to get
    people interested. You might add a video or a picture or two to get readers interested about
    what you’ve written. In my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.

  7. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with
    us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Outstanding blog and excellent design.

  8. Looks great – have to agree with you about those “ends”. Of course, trashy TV and good wine certainly helps. Want to see a picture of the finished project on your bed !

    With Marlow of course ! ! !

Lemme know what you think!

