cooking / Craft / Crochet / featured / free / Free Pattern / Happiness / life / Running / tutorial

Morning Jogging

Last week, I did something that I haven’t done. Like ever.

I woke up and went to go jog before I even had a cup of coffee. And it was amazing!

As mentioned in a previous post, I am taking up running again. It was something that I got into and feel in love with last year, but then with the move and the winter …. I just wasn’t able to keep running.

Now, there is still ice and about 2 feet of snow on everything- but the hubster and I were finally able to get our very first treadmill!! Which means while we still can’t even see the sidewalks where we live (but we do have it on good authority that they are still there) we can run inside.

I quickly fell into my old habit of wanting to run right away after work. However, that is the same time that the hubster wanted to run too. Since he leaves the house almost two hours before I have to leave the house, and I am always (usually) up at that time anyhow, I decided to give running in the morning a shot.

So I ran (with some walking) 1.5 miles. Then had some coffee, took a shower, had some coffee, realized that I needed some breakfast, had some more coffee (see a pattern?)

IMG_2743

I have to share with you my new favorite  lazy as heck healthy breakfast, it is pinned on my Fabulous Food and Drinks board if you want to check it out but basically you take a muffin pan, spray it with a shot of non-stick cooking spray, plop a piece of ham in there, and then crack an egg in it.

Bake for 20ish minutes at 350 degrees (I throw it in the oven while I throw some clothes and make up on so it may be closer to 30ish minutes- but the important thing is that I haven’t burned the house down). Easy, yummy, and surprisingly very filling.

I even had time to work on the Big Bang Theory Afghan afterwards, while watching a little Nightmare on Elm Street

IMG_2745

Has anyone else seen the new Nightmare on Elm Street? I have seen it a few thousand times and I love, love, love it!

And this is coming from someone who usually avoids remakes of classics because, well- usually they got it right the first time. HELLO! That’s why they are considered classics in the first freaking place!!

I digress.

Even Marlow was watching it with me.

IMG_2748

(side note, the hubster and I tested this theory out- he really does watch the new Freddy Kruger movie. We are not sure why other than the fact that Marlow obviously has impeccable taste in movies) 

Needless to say, I have now continued to run in the mornings. There is a certain motivation that one needs to get out of bed for something other than coffee… and because I am slated to run a relay marathon with a team of four in the beginning of May (so I would run 7 miles) that motivation is coming in the form of really, really not wanting to embarrass myself and my friends.

A little over a week in an I am able to walk/run 2.5 miles- so I do think that I am well on my way… but as someone once said – “It ain’t over until the fat lady sings”. Or until I collapse on the other side of the finish line.

Whichever happens first.

Also, the Big Bang Afghan tutorial is sooooo close to being complete. Can’t wait to post about the finished product!

Lemme know what you think!

