featured / life

Droids Get Cold Too

After finishing up the Big Bang Theory afghan, I decided that I wanted to do a quick project- some small and silly.

Basically, I needed a break from crocheting and I needed to do something that would take less than forever to make. So I did what I always do, go to pinterest and watch as the hours go by looking at all the pretty pictures.

A few hours went by and while I found approximately a million things that I wanted to try, nothing really popped out at me. So I headed over to my ravelry queue,

And there is was- the perfect pattern. I had queued it over a year ago as though my past self knew that I would one day want a silly quick pattern.

The iPhoodie.

And it was a timely project as my current cellphone case was beaten up to oblivion and beyond from being bounced around in my purse non-stop for a few years.

So I opened up the pattern for the iPhoodie, and got to it.

IMG_2781

The first attempt…. not so much in love with it (and I am not going to photograph that hot mess). I didn’t even finish it. So I went about my merry way and switched things up a bit:

  • Since I don’t have an iPhone, but a Droid- I stopped increasing at 8 sts instead of the 10
  • I seamed up a few rows to make the opening a little smaller (if I do this again I would start knitting in the round at 6 increases, and just increase twice more while knitting in the round instead of doing all the increases flat)
  • I knitted a pattern of stripes that were two rows wide
  • instead of doing the ribbing at the bottom- I just continued in pattern until it was long enough
  • I used the kitchener’s seam instead of the 3-needle BO
  • I added a pom pom (everything is better with a pom pom)
  • I added a finish to the opening of the case by first sc around the very bottom of the opening, then I ch 10, joined to one side of the opening that hadn’t been finished yet, sc around until I reached the other side where it was finished, ch 10 and then broke the yarn. Then I added a knot to each of the “hoodie ties” and unraveled the yarn below the knot

IMG_2783  IMG_2782

I loved the way it turned out! It is the perfect pattern for when you want to knit up something quick and quirky – and it is such a well written pattern that you can easily customize it for your phone and personal tastes.

IMG_2784

This was also the perfect project for finally forcing myself to learn how to knit jogless stripes (hint: it is so easy that I am embarrassed that I hadn’t learned it yet).

IMG_2788 IMG_2787

TECHknitting answered all my jogless stripes questions- and they too love pretty pictures so I fully recommend that you check them out if you have any questions about jogless stripes.

IMG_2786

What patterns do you know of that would be great little breaks between longer projects (knit or crochet)? Please share below and I will make a post with everyone’s ideas!!

 

 

My Merry Messy Life
6 thoughts on “Droids Get Cold Too

    • While I was making this I was thinking that it would be the perfect pattern for a doll- the only modification would be to rib the bottom (which is actually in the main pattern and I omitted for my version) and not stitch it up!

Lemme know what you think!

