afghan / Crochet / Free Pattern / life / tutorial / Winter

Last Blanket of Winter

So this is the last blanket I will make (I am hoping) this winter – and it is a link that I discovered through the Hookin on Humpdays.

Petal to Picots posted a tutorial- including how she selected the colors for the blanket…. if you remember, I shared the tutorial in response to the poll results that indicated ya’ll would love it.  And I love it too.

One of the interesting parts about the Granny Hexagon Tutorial is that she went into how she selected the colors.

tumblr_inline_mjq9b1Xe281roi0m7

Color selection is a process?

You are suppose to think ahead and plan?

Oops!

My selection process is normally holding two colors together- asking the hubster if he thinks they look good, and then just going with those colors regardless because I don’t feel like standing around when there is a project to do!

In hindsight- this is most likely why I had so many projects to frog…. well- whatever.

This project I decided to follow the tutorial and come up with three color combos- two cold and one warm.


IMG_2791 IMG_2789 IMG_2792

Look! Color combos!

#1 = dark purple, light purple, and pale blue

#2 – red, orange, and yellow

#3 = teal, bright blue, and light green

IMG_2794

As much as I hate to admit it- there is something to be said for taking the time to pair colors together….

IMG_2796

Although it still only took a few minutes to play swatch and switch for the yarn colors …. I do have to say … the motifs do look nice together.

I will be joining them with a light beige yarn… that I will pick up this weekend. Hopefully when they are joined I will be all like

tumblr_mjric9pgN41s8czzko1_500

And my timing couldn’t be better as the tutorial for joining the motifs was just posted!

Anyone else in the middle of making an afghan? Anyone else dealing with 5 feet drifts of snow in their backyard still?

I am so sick of winter.

2 thoughts on “Last Blanket of Winter

  1. The rainbow afghan sounds pretty! I have never done a CAL although I do think that it could be fun. Hopefully the snow will disappear for both of us soon and we will be able to enjoy sunshine and warmth!!

  2. I’ve got a UFO as a rainbow afghan (an old CAL from the Inner Hooker)…. urg blankets.

    I’m plowing through baby stuff, and the Spring Fling Pillow (thanx Crochet Club for the distraction!!)…..

    I waded through waist high snow today cutting wood. (yay for wood heat?)

Lemme know what you think!

