Eating on $300 a month / life

The $300 for 30 Challenge

As I have mentioned on this blog previously- the hubster and I love our food and eating in general. You may recall I wrote up a few posts about eating on the cheap… but looking back it occurs to me that we were spending even more than that because I didn’t take into account snacks that we were buying as the mood struck, alcohol, soda (that would be the hubster’s old vice), and other miscellaneous things that never occured to us to include in our grocery budget.

So, we decided to try a challenge- eating for a full 4 weeks (one month) for $300 or less. That is still 20% under the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s average cost of groceries for a couple eating thrifty ($375 per month).  That is also $10 a day for eating- including coffee, snacks, meals, and if we want to have any drinks.

Saturday was the first day of the $300 for 30 Challenge and the menu looked as followed:

Breakfast: Bacon and Eggs (approx. .75¢ per serving)

Lunch: Mexican Stuffed Peppers ($1.75 per serving)

Dinner: Baked Chicken Breast (.65¢ each), mashed potatoes (leftovers, so I guess they don’t count?) and salad (guessing about $1.00 each for the lettuce, tomatoes, cheese and dressing)

Snacks:

  • Apple (.50¢) and

Cottage Cheese (.25¢)

Drinks: Coffee & Water (.25¢)

Daily total: $9.30

A lot of the totals are estimates… I am guessing over estimates in most cases …. I was really not sure what the actual break down of coffee grounds is but I felt as though I should put something.

Below is what pulling together lunch looked like:

Note: Based on the traffic to my pages – I have decided to remove the “Simple Living” portion and replace it with “Recipes”. Ya’ll love your food and I can appreciate that. I have kicked off the section with the Mexican Stuffed Peppers, and have included both a price breakdown and Nutritional values of it.  Feel free to suggest other ideas for recipes that you would like to see.

Lemme know what you think!

