Craft / Crochet / Knitted / life

Knitting & Crochet Blog Week: Day 7

DAY 6 PROMPT

One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?

This could be anything from mastering a technique (broomstick lace, entrelac, etc), trying a new yarn or skill, or a long term wish to crochet only from your stash, or knit every stitch in one of the Harmony Guides. Maybe you have no desire or plans for your craft at all, no new element of knitting or crochet that you dream of mastering, in which case write about why that might be. In a year’s time participants will be asked to look back to see if they achieved any goals, no matter how general, and see which house conquered the art of looking forward.

__________________________________________________

The last post for the Blog Week!!

So, one year from now….. I can’t even imagine what the year will bring me. I have always had a dream about opening an Etsy shop – but I have yet to actually go anywhere with that idea.  I have tons of life goals and ambitions but to be honest I view my hobbies as play time – whether it is painting, knitting, crocheting, etc.

Asking me to put goals on my knitting/crochet would be like asking a kid what their goal is with hide and seek – and the answer is the same: to have fun and kick ass.

Duh.

I do have some ideas for the blog.  Mainly I want to actually blog on a regular basis (not daily – that’s insane and takes up way too much of my play time). This blog week gave me some awesome ideas. I will be incorporating infographics in my blog when I can, and the “knitting/crocheting” confessions are totally going to be a thing now.

I think it is also obvious that I write lengthier posts when presented a prompt so I am thinking about maybe expanding on my typical method of keeping up with this blog which is whipping out the ol’ laptop and hitting the keys for a bit until I am bored. Yeah, I am not a role-model for the blogging community. The fact I have as many followers as I do is a freaking shock to be honest – I would have been shocked if I had more than five followers but apparently lousy writing and semi decent pictures attracts peeps. So, I will start creating writing prompts for myself. It sounds easy but I am struggling – so far I have:

  • How does weather affect what I am knitting/crocheting?
  • When do I prefer my items crocheted? knitted?
  • Vintage patterns
  • How I find free patterns on the internet

Oh, and I am going to re-do the Boredom Buster Bag pattern because it has an error and for the life of me I can’t figure out what I did way back when. Not surprising since I can’t remember what I had for breakfast yesterday either.

Also, I am going to plan on doing Blog Week next year instead of seeing it on someone else’s blog and having a brain-fart that told me it would be a great idea to jump on board with no prep, no knowledge of what to do, and no idea how much time it was going to take up.

So, by the time the Blog Week rolls around next year I will:

  • have started to use infographics
  • be doing knitting/crochet confessions on a regular basis (I am leaning towards once every two weeks….)
  • re-done and re-released the boredom buster bag pattern
  • actually get a head start on the blog week

What are your thoughts regarding this past week? Did you like the different posts? What would you like to see me write about in the future?

And – because no one likes a post without pictures here is an old picture of some crocheting and tea.

IMG_2851

Later peeps!

4KCBWDAY7

4 thoughts on “Knitting & Crochet Blog Week: Day 7

  1. I’d like to congratulate you on winning the “Super Sweet Blogging Award” ❤ To receive this award, simply copy & paste my post –http://prettylittlethingsinabox.wordpress.com/ , follow the rules, and spread some sweetness of your own! Thanks for being so fabulous! ^_^

  2. Here’s a prompt “What I had for breakfast yesterday” LOL! Have you ever heard of WIP Wednesday or FO Friday? Tami’s Ami’s is the host for them. Great ways to keep your fingers in blogging.

Lemme know what you think!